When I was doing my coursework, Ms Yap showed me a work by Jennifer Bartlett, which really inspired me. Thanks Ms Yap. 🙂

preppicture001

Jennifer Bartlett, “Yellow and Black Boats”

In Jennifer Bartlett’s “Yellow and Black Boats”, it consists of 3 paintings placed together to form a single image, and 2 boats, one which is black and one which is yellow. The 2 boats are placed in a way such that it is the mirror image of the boats in the painting. When I saw this picture, I thought the way she put 3 disjointed paintings together to form a single image was interesting, but I was more interested in the usage of real-life objects in her artwork.  Ms Yap suggested that I could use real life objects to juxtapose the “real” and the “surreal”, and I thought that idea was really good. By adding real-life objects, not only it emphasises the sense of depth of the drawing and makes it more realistic, the artwork becomes more interactive and also adds a very interesting concept of juxtaposition and contrast. To me, the usage of real-life objects is a contrast of the past and the present, where the drawing represents my childhood memories, while the real-life objects represented my real and present surroundings. Therefore, this was an important concept to my coursework, and a step up to my development of ideas.